* Adam Matthew Publications. Imaginative publishers of research collections.
Elizabeth Barrett Browning
News  |  Orders  |  About Us
* A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z  

OLIPHANT: The Collected Writings of Margaret Oliphant (1828-1897)

Part 4

Margaret Oliphant was one of the most prolific and respected authors in Victorian England.  She was well thought of by writers as varied as J M Barrie and Anthony Trollope and was reputed to be Queen Victoria's favourite author.  This project brings together all of her published novels, collections of short stories, critical works and travel writings.

Part 4 completes this project, providing a further 37 titles from Cambridge University Library, the British Library, the London Library and the National Library of Scotland.  We include:

  • John Drayton, the Liverpool Engineer (1851), The Melvilles (1852), Ailieford, a Family History (1853), and Christian Melville (1856) - all published under the name of William Wilson;
  • important later novels such as The railway man and his children (3 vols, 1891), The land of darkness, along with some further chapters in the experience of the little pilgrims (1888) and The two Mrs Scudamores (1879);
  • and non-fiction such as her history of the Blackwoods publishing house, literary histories of the 18th century and the Victorian age, lives of the Brontës, Edward Irving and others, and writings about Florence, Rome, Venice and Jerusalem.

Digital Guide
* * *
* * *

* *© 2018 Adam Matthew Digital Ltd. All Rights Reserved.